Interview With Real Life Superhero Crossfire the Crusader

Posted: 10/14/2011 in Superhero

Interview by Michael Wilkerson

MW: Please introduce yourself?

CtC: This could be a long answer. I am known by many names. I am Crossfire the Crusader, but Crossfire is only one of my personas.  I am a children’s entertainer and I appear publicly as Gizmoe the Clown, Gilroy the Jester, Jack Rabbit the Easter Bunny, Santa Claus, as well as Crossfire the Crusader. (My real name is not a secret, but I prefer not to release unless necessary.)

MW: How did Crossfire the Crusader come about?

CtC: I first devised the character that would become Crossfire when I was working with children in our church. I wanted a costumed character that was easy to change into and out of in the middle of a service. A superhero seemed the natural choice. For months I tossed around ideas for this character but never followed through on the ideas.

The character went through several incarnations during this planning time. At one point he was going to be called Turtle Man. Later I changed the name to Good Guy. I even tested the idea of having him on roller blades and calling him Holy Roller. But through all that, the character remained a series of sketches and notes in my folders.

Then I had the opportunity to audition for a reality show called “WHO WANTS TO BE A SUPER HERO.”  I got serious about creating this character and ultimately decided on the name Crossfire the Crusader.

After the auditions I began to look for opportunities to use the new character. I began attending charity events and church functions as Crossfire the Crusader and eventually found my way into the Real Life Superhero (RLSH) community. I have since operated mainly as a charity hero and hero support.

I do want to point out one thing…Of all the characters I appear as, Crossfire is the only one I refuse to accept pay for. When I suit up as Crossfire I do so to serve the world. The other characters (Gizmoe, Gilroy, etc) are “for hire” and the money I earn in those personas is used to fund the activities of Crossfire.

MW: Tell me all about Crossfire the Crusader?

CtC: Crossfire the Crusader was originally devised as a teaching tool. The costume is based on the Armor of God verses found in the book of Ephesians. At the time of the auditions I literally had enough items on the utility belt and costume that I could have taught a year worth of children’s church lessons.

In the fictional world, Crossfire the Crusader is a superhero powered by the Holy Spirit. The power manifests in the form of Holy Fire which gives Crossfire super powers like flight, super strength, and much more. I hope someday to turn the fictional stories I have written for Crossfire into a series of comics that can be sold to help raise money for charity.

Since taking Crossfire into the real world, I have had to modify the costume. I am currently upgrading the armor form the costume I auditioned in to a more functional armor that will actually be able to protect me from harm if necessary. Some items like my sword and shield were originally just stage props and have been replaced with more functional items. The sword is being replaced with a practice blade…I don’t want to cut anyone and it’s still mostly ceremonial. I am also involved in a one year fitness challenge to get myself in better shape for work on the streets.

Each week I host a blog talk radio show called SUPERHERO ACADEMY in which I and other members of the RLSH community discuss ways to impact the world for the better. I maintain three blogs – The Crossfire Academy for Superheroes, Fire by Knight, and The Superhero Bible Study – as well as being a blogger on the RLSH.org website.

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/superhero_academy

http://crossfirethecrusader.blogspot.com/

http://thecrossfireacademy.blogspot.com/

http://superherobiblestudy.blogspot.com/

MW: Where do you fight crime?

CtC: I operate out of Central Arkansas, but, I’m not actually a crime fighter. My focus is more directed to what I call street ministry. I feel it’s better to focus my efforts on helping people than fighting crime. What that means is when I go out to do something I am more concerned with the needs of those around than actually trying to seek out and capture criminals.

In doing this, I have encountered my fair share of crime. I have a background in private security and have worked in the prison system, so I am prepared when I have to intervene in a situation. I have stopped fights, assaults, and even an attempted murder…all of which when out of costume.

The costume/armor is used only for special occasions like charity events.

MW: Tell me about one of your times fighting crime?

CtC: The incident that comes to mind is the day I stopped the murder. I wasn’t on patrol when it happened. I was actually trying to get some sleep because I had to work in a few hours. I had just drifted off when I heard the commotion across the hall.

I knew immediately what was going on. Our neighbor had been attacked a few days earlier by her ex- boyfriend and we were watching to make sure he didn’t return. I grabbed a pair of running shorts and my nightstick and ran across the hall to help. As I stepped out the door I instructed another neighbor to call the police. I banged on the door with my nightstick and told them to let me in.

My neighbor opened the door and said “help us.” She had been cut on one hand and blood was running down her arm.

I ran in and found her boyfriend and the fiancé locked together on the couch. The boyfriend had the ex pinned to the couch and was fighting to keep from getting cut by a huge knife the ex was wielding. The knife had actually penetrated the boyfriend’s tee shirt and scratched his skin but had not yet cut him. I shoved my nightstick between the blade and the boyfriends’ chest and told the ex to release the knife.

For a moment the ex seemed as if he was going to comply. I told the girlfriend to try and reach in to get the knife while held the baton between them. When she did, the ex grabbed the knife again. I then pulled the nightstick out and placed it on his forehead and ordered him “drop the knife NOW!”

He released the knife and put his hands out to the side as if to surrender. We then wrested him to the floor and waited for the police to arrive. I gave a full statement to the police afterward and the ex boyfriend was taken into custody. He eventually was sentenced to twenty years in prison for the attack.

MW: What does it mean to be a Real Life Superhero?

CtC: A Real Life Superhero (RLSH) is a person who has adopted a separate persona for the purpose of trying to make the world a better place. Some RLSH are crime fighters; others are charity workers; and others do a little of both. The one thing they have in common is a desire to help make the world a better place and a creativity that manifests itself in their methods – like the costumes.

MW: Do you feel the world needs more superheroes?

CtC: Yes. I do. The world needs people who will step up and try to make a difference.  Superheroes do just that and while doing that, they also inspire others to do the same.

MW: What other superheroes do you know?

CtC: I know quite a few. I am a moderator on one of the major RLSH message boards, and host of a popular RLSH blog talk radio show. As a result of those two, I have made many friendships with people in the RLSH community. Odds are if you find a person in the community, then I know them or they know of me. Those closest to me go by the names, Silver Sentinel, Skyman, Midnight Detective, Amazonia, Golden Valkyrie, Superhero, Master Legend, Artisteroi, Dark Wolf, & Lunar Veil…and I could go on for a while naming those I consider friends, acquaintances, and even a few friendly rivals.

MW: Tell me about a day in your life?

CtC: My day is usually pretty boring. I work overnights at a hotel, and mornings on my hobby/part time business (the clown stuff) and my hero work. This could mean anything from blogging to building equipment to rehearsing for clown performances.

MW: Did you make your superhero suit yourself?

CtC: Yes I did…I did have some help sewing. My mother assisted me in creating the original Crossfire suit. I have since made small upgrades on my own. The current upgrade project will replace the breastplate portion of my costume with a Roman style Lorica Segmatta armor which will provide me a higher degree of protection from harm.

MW: What would you like to say in closing?

CtC: I know most people look at a costumed activist like me and perhaps chuckle…most laugh right out. But in the past few years, since donning this super suit, I have been able to help raise funds for the Make-a Wish foundation, Heart Heroes, The Salvation Army, and for a four year old child who was battling cancer. I’ve helped find a power wheelchair for a lady who could not afford one. I’ve helped several people find their way off the street, into jobs and homes. I’ve stopped assaults and a murder attempt, and even cleaned up a motel that was overrun with drug dealers and addicts. It’s been tough at times, but I wouldn’t give anything for this journey.

I would encourage anyone to follow my simple three step plan to becoming a successful superhero. 1) Find a need. 2) Find a way to meet that need. And 3) Be creative and have fun while doing it.

And please, tune into my show SUPERHERO ACADEMY every Sunday Afternoon at 5pm US Central time. SUPERHERO ACADEMY is a place where we all have something to teach and we all have things to learn…We’re overcoming the negative in the world by strengthening the positive.

Comments
  1. […] Real Life Superhero Crossfire the Crusader 10/14/11 […]

Leave a comment