Interview with actress/model Tha Original Gata Monique Dupree

Posted: 08/11/2011 in Uncategorized

Interview done by Mike Wilkerson

MW: Tell me about Tha Original Gata Monique Dupree

MD: Actress Monique Dupree; often referred to affectionately as THA ORIGINAL GATA™, has become an underground cultural icon. She tows the line between independent /genre film leading lady and the fringe of the mainstream. Loved ,hated, often challenged she continues to infect the very bloodstream of the horror/ sci-fi universe on every media level with her dominating presence and tireless work effort.

MW: How would the readers know you?

MD: Well, I’m an actress as well as lead vocalist for a band called Negro Childe (www.reverbnation.com/negrochilde), as well as an alternative model and mother of 9 into fitness. Tell me about your movie career? My first movie was Lean On Me (Morgan Freeman, Tony Todd). For awhile after that, I did theatre mostly. Finally, I decided that film and television was where I best fit in. Since my first film, I’ve done 69 other projects including Bachelor Party in the Bungalow of the Damned, Law and Order, Step Up 3-D, Satan Hates You, Bikini Bloodbath Christmas and recently, Plan 9.

MW: Please list of the movies you have been in and are going to be in?

MD: There’s quite a list in my filmography, you can find half of them on my IMDB page http://www.imdb.me/moniquegatadupree I just finished a show that will air on the Food Network starring Baron Ambrosia of The Bronx Flavor. I’ll also be working on a project called Epitaph:Bread and Salt, She Feast, DISCIPLES and afew other projects as well.

MW: Tell me about your modeling career?

MD: I’ve just gotten back into my modeling again, but my work is movie horror and alternative type. I like to be egdy but simple at the same time. I’ve been in over 20 publications, half of which are published out of the country. I’ve been modeling since I was 7 but it was more runway at that time. I was recently in Urban Ink magazine, but I hope to get into Gothic Beauty and a few tattoo magazines in the near future.

MW: Give me a day in the life of Monique Dupree?

MD: That can get a little crazy. I have 9 children, 8 of which lives at home, so when I get up I’m going between being a mom and a businesswoman. I have to care for the little ones, answer emails and read scripts. Sometimes I’ll have afew interviews to do 🙂 Then I also make time for my fitness. In the last year, I’ve lost 67lbs. When I decide that I’m going to do something, I do it. I’ve since started body sculpting. (view my youtube vlogs http://www.youtube.com/moniquedupree7) Its a hard balance, but its also doable.

MW: What would you like to say in closing?

MD: I’d like to thank you for taking the time to do this interview with me. It was my pleasure. Here are some of my sites that you can feel free to share http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2374082/ en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monique_Dupree http://www.facebook.com/theoriginalgata http://www.twitter.com/thaoriginalgata thank you

Comments
  1. […] Actress/Model Tha Original Gata Monique Dupree 08/11/11 […]

Leave a comment