Interview With Roger Waters Guitarist For The Wall Tour 2010-2012 Dave Kilminster

Posted: 01/17/2013 in Music

Blastzone_onlinead_FatCat283639_10150987734575861_1631759640_n

Interview By Mike Wilkerson

MW: Please introduce yourself?

DK: Hi, I’m Dave!! I play guitar, sing, play keyboards… write, compose, produce…

I’ve played/toured/recorded with a variety of artists including Roger Waters, Keith Emerson, John Wetton, Carl Palmer, Guthrie Govan, Ken Hensley, etc… I’ve also taught guitar at several private music schools (including ‘The Guitar Institute’ & the ‘ACM’ in Guildford), recorded various instructional DVD’s (as well as a TV series!!), and transcribed, written and recorded over 200 articles for ‘Guitar Techniques’ magazine.

Oh, and I also won a guitar playing competition way back in 1991 called ‘Guitarist of the Year’, for the European magazine ‘Guitarist’.

MW: How did you get the gig as Roger Waters guitarist on The Wall Tour 2010-2012?

DK: Well I played lead guitar (and sang some lead vocals) for him on the ‘Dark Side Of The Moon’ tour (2006-2008), and so early in 2010 when I was in New York playing a charity event with Roger (for The
Alzheimer’s Association Rita Hayworth Gala), he asked me if I’d like to play on the ‘Wall’ tour.

MW: What was the biggest show you played on The Wall Tour 2010-2012?

DK: The biggest show was actually the final show in 2012, when we played on the ‘Plains of Abraham’ in beautiful Québec. There were over 70,000 people there!!

6873261132_f7a807a011_z

MW: Where has been your favorite place to play on The Wall Tour 2010-2012?

DK: The whole tour was just so much fun, it’s really difficult to pick out any highlights… The gigs in Mexico were great, as the audience is always a little crazy!! Also I have very fond memories of the shows in Greece that were filmed for the live DVD… partly because of the red lighting on the audience, which looked incredible!! The two shows at Yankee Stadium were also amazing…

I guess if I had to pick a favorite it would be the last one in Québec, partly because we spent a week there before we played and it’s such a gorgeous place… with lovely people… and also we knew that it may be the last show ever, so it was an incredibly emotional evening…

MW: How is it playing with Roger Waters?

DK: I love playing with Roger!!! He’s a total perfectionist (like me), so we get on very well… We sound check before every show, and every sound check he’ll be tweaking certain elements… constantly trying to make it the best show possible… :O)

MW: How big of a rush is it to be up on that stage playing iconic Pink Floyd songs?

DK: Well that’s the trick… to try and be professional and keep it all together, when the little kid inside you just wants to scream and go “Fuck”!!!!! :O)) Yeah, it’s pretty intense sometimes…

MW: Did you like Pink Floyd before playing there songs on The Wall Tour 2010-2012?

DK: I wasn’t actually what you’d call a Floyd fan… although I’d enjoyed the songs that I’d heard… things
like ‘Shine On You Crazy Diamond’, ‘Great Gig In The Sky’, ‘Wish You Were Here’ etc really are amazing…

MW: Will there be a 2013 leg of The Wall Tour?

DK: Yes, there will!! The dates are already on Roger’s website http://tour.rogerwaters.com and also on mine, which is http://www.davekilminster.com/tour.html)... We kick off in July, and I really can’t wait!!! :O))

MW: What else are you doing other than playing with Roger Waters?

DK: I released my solo album ‘Scarlet – The Director’s Cut’ shortly before Christmas… and I also have an acoustic album due out in March called ‘Closer to Earth’, recorded with my good friend Murray Hockridge… both albums are already on iTunes, but I know that there are still a lot of people out there (me included) that like a physical CD. In fact, I miss LPs!!! Haha…

I’m also planning on going into the studio soon to start recording the follow up to ‘Scarlet’… I was actually booked in to start recording on the 10th December, but then the 12.12.12 concert for Sandy Relief in New York came up and so obviously I cancelled my plans so that I could contribute to that.

MW: What would you like to say in closing?

DK: Thank you for the questions… and please check out my music!! :O))

show6

Comments

Leave a comment