30 Days Of Walking Dead Interviews – Ilan Muallem Wesley A Hill Top Resident In The Walking Dead Season 6

Posted: 01/18/2017 in 30 Days Of Walking Dead Interviews, The Walking Dead

the-walking-dead-season-6-poster

ian

Interview Done By Mike WIlkerson

Mike: Please introduce yourself?

Ilan: Hey, My name is Ilan. I am an actor out of Los Angeles. Love the craft and my other passion is martial arts as well which I’ve been doing most of my life.

Mike: How would the readers of Blastzone Online know you:

IIan: They may know me from various projects I have worked on. I was in the Big Short as Noah, Deepwater Horizon opposite Mark Whalberg and Gina Rodriguez. I have appeared on a bunch of TV shows but I would image primarily through Walking Dead where I play Wesley from the Hilltop Colony.

Mike: How did you get the job to play Wesley a Hill Top resident on The Walking Dead

Ilan: I auditioned for the role. Good old fashion traditional way of getting an acting job. They had seen me before for lots of other parts so this one turned out to be the right fit for me.

Mike: When you got the job did you know it was for The Walking Dead?

Ilan: Yes. Because of my history auditioning for them I had a pretty good idea it was the Walking Dead. Normally they change the scenes around and don’t tell you the name of the show but I was pretty aware at the time it was for them.

Mike: Had you read The Walking Dead comics or saw the show?

Ilan: I had watched the show and always enjoyed it. There really isn’t a comparable show on TV. I’ve always loved any show that had anything to do with zombies, vampire, werewolves etc… those genres always appealed to me and The Walking Dead seems to have done a better job in the Zombie genre than anyone else combining the realism of the experience with incredible character development.

Mike: Who did you get to do your scene with?

Ilan: I have had numerous scenes ranging through the entire main cast. All of them are great. The work ethic they have is through the roof. Andrew Lincoln is the most dedicated actor I have ever worked with in my entire life.

Mike: Take the readers through doing the scene?

Ilan: Well as I said to this point we have done a few scenes. The atmosphere is always very intense. They are living out the moments and as I said earlier dedicated to a degree I have yet to experience on any other set. That’s what makes the show work. These guys are so in to it that you can’t help but be pulled in yourself. There are also actors who have the most realistic zombie makeup I have ever seen so it pulls you in more. I do have a funny story about the first scene I ever shot on my first day on set. I had gotten a migraine early in the morning and when I get a migraine I get very nauseous. We showed up on set where we were being rescued by Rick, Daryl, Michonne and Abraham from Zombies that had us pinned. I was so sick that I was throwing up in between takes and the director walked over and said to me “THIS IS AMAZING!!! USE IT”. That was perhaps one of the weirdest experiences I have ever had but even then without the cast or crew knowing me or owing me anything they all checked on me constantly and made sure I was OK.

Mike: How was it working with The Walking Dead cast?

Ilan: I might have accidentally answered this before but they are a family to each other and you really feel it on set. They are all there to make sure the show works as best it can. Every single one is always looking out for each other and helping the scenes grow to where it needs to get. I really believe Andrew Lincoln would go to the ends of the earth if he felt it would make a scene on that show better. He blows me away.

Mike: Will we get to see anymore of you in the next part of the season?

Ilan: Maybe yes maybe no 

Mike: What else do you have going on?

Ilan: I work as an actor whenever I get hired. Deepwater Horizon is in theaters so check it out. I also recently started directing and have been winning awards for my last two films which is nice. I also started a company called Egard where I design luxury watches that originally was a tribute to my father. I like combining all the worlds together as they are all creative in essence.

Mike: What would you like to say in closing?

Ilan: Thanks for taking the time to read this and getting to know me. Thanks for watching the Walking Dead and making it the great show it is and I am happy and honored to be a part of it.

ian-2

Leave a Reply

