30 Days Of Walking Dead Interviews – Kerry Cahill Dianne a Kingdom resident In The Walking Dead Season 7

Posted: 01/16/2017 in 30 Days Of Walking Dead Interviews, The Walking Dead

walking-dead-season-7-poster

kerry2

Interview Done By Mike Wilkerson

Mike: Please introduce yourself?

Kerry: Hi I’m Kerry Cahill. I play Dianne on The Walking Dead.

kerry3
Mike: How would the readers of Blastzone Online know you:
Kerry: They may know me from Free State of Jones or Showing Roots.
Mike: How did you get the job to play a Dianne a Kingdom resident on The Walking Dead
Kerry: I had auditioned for the show a few times and this time I actually auditioned for a different role but then I got the call to play Dianne in The Kingdom.
Mike: When you got the job did you know it was for The Walking Dead?
Kerry: Yes. And I’m not gonna lie…I smiled that whole day.
Mike: Had you read The Walking Dead comics or saw the show?
Kerry: I had seen the show but never read the comics. I am reading a few of the comics now.
Mike: How was it working with Khary Payton AKA King Ezekiel ?
Kerry: He’s great! We have an awesome time on set and hanging out in Atlanta. I’m really happy he got this opportunity. I can’t imagine working with anyone else in that role. Khary is one of those actors you hope you get to work with as much as possible. He’s generous, committed, and has a great sense of humor.
Mike: Did you ever get to do a scene with Shiva (I know it is CGI)?
Kerry: She’s really high maintenance and the crew is scared of her (totally joking obviously)…I got to learn a lot about CGI and visual effects as well as animatronics on Terminator Genisys so for me it’s easy to work with.
Mike: How was it working with Melissa McBride AKA Carol and Lennie James AKA Morgan?
Kerry: I can’t say enough praises about this cast. Lennie and Melissa were great. When you jump into a show like this in season 7 it can be easy to feel overwhelmed and behind but they are very open and welcoming so that all goes away. It’s also incredible to see how good Lennie is with that stick. They set such a high bar of excellence and it’s exciting to be around that.
Mike: Give the readers a story from the Walking Dead set?
Kerry: First time I met Cooper (who plays Jerry) we compared weapons, talked shop a little, and I asked if I could hold his axe just to see what it was like. He handed it to me and I immediately said “Dear god.” and almost dropped it. That thing is heavy and real and Cooper carries it around like it weighs 2 lbs.

 

Mike: Will we get to see anymore of you in the next part of the season?
Kerry: I think so. 😉 We aren’t allowed to say much but the trailer gives some good hints.
Mike: What else do you have going on?
Kerry: I was just in a one woman show called Grounded with Southern Rep Theatre. It was about 50 pages of text. I just finished that and I have a few films coming out soon. Mudbound and Heart Baby. Both are incredible stories. I also write so with some down time I will be working on that too.
It’s nice to have some time to go to the park with my dogs too.

 

Mike: How can fans reach out to you?
Kerry: Send self addressed stamped envelopes to my agency in Atlanta, People Store for signatures etc… I also have twitter, instagram, and facebook. I will be starting to do some comic cons this spring but no schedule yet.
Mike: What would you like to say in closing?

Kerry: I just want to say thank you to you and all the fans. I’ve done over 30 movies and tv shows and this has been one of the best experiences I’ve ever had. So I will keep practicing my bow and I’ll make sure Dianne is a badass character for you.

kerry

Leave a Reply

