30 Days Of Walking Dead Interviews – Evan Lopez Savior In The Walking Dead Season 7

Posted: 01/14/2017 in 30 Days Of Walking Dead Interviews, The Walking Dead

walking-dead-season-7-poster

savior

Interview Done By Mike Wilkerson

Mike: Please introduce yourself?

Evan: Hello, my fellow Dead Heads! (That’s of course referring to The Walking Dead.) Or just readers of Blastzone Online! I’m not trying to single anyone out, but to be honest, I’ve come to find out while working with The Walking Dead, anyone who likes the show are always some really great people. (And I’m sure the fans from Blastzone are no different. So, Zomboys and girls, thank you for this interview, and let’s get started! My name is Evan Lopez; I’m from a really small town in Wilkes County North Carolina. I am a self-taught survivalist, Writer, Artist, and Actor, in which I play part of Negan’s ruthless crew, and I although I don’t publicize it as much, a Walker from time to time.

Mike: How would the readers of Blastzone Online know you:

Evan: I just recently just got back into acting again, because I’ve been getting experience of a variety of jobs under my belt, so besides The Walking Dead, probably not a lot to be honest. But, I’ve opened a lot of doors, and will say I am quickly coming up! And when I was younger I was in a few movies and shows like “The Rusty Buket Kids Club”, “Fatal Flaw”, and did some background in “The 5th Quarter” with Andi McDowell (Groundhog Day), and Ryan Merryman (Final Destination 3).

Mike: How did you get the job to play a Savior on The Walking Dead?

Evan: I was really only wanting to be a Walker. And that was my goal, even if it was just once. But after they saw something about my performance I was asked if I was interested in a part as a survivor, and I was like.. “Uhh, hell yeah!” lol. That being said I was oblivious to whom he was, but I actually tried to bite Greg Nicotero. It freaked him out but

Mike: When you got the job did you know it was for The Walking Dead?

Evan: I did, but I was still waiting to wake up… like did I really make it! After the first few times I was on set though, its stopped be so surreal and more like, this is what you’ve wanted to do all your life, give it your all and make them want more…

Mike: Had you read The Walking Dead comics or saw the show?

Evan: I really didn’t know anything about The Walking Dead but my sister’s and my mom love the show, so they helped out a lot too. I never read the comic, and had only seen a few episodes when my family was watching it. However after seeing the season 6 final episodes, I was so intrigued I immediately went back and had to watch it all from season 1. Now I’m hooked.

Mike: How was it doing the scenes in the Sanctuary the Savior Community on The Walking Dead? Evan: I consider myself a definite method actor, so every time we were called to set, I made sure I knew it was all I had and the people in there were all we had, and it’s actually the way it just came together. We all knew each other and that’s exactly what I would consider it both off and on screen, a small community where everyone knows each other, we laugh, we joke, and of course we shudder and scream together.

Mike: Take the readers through doing the Fire Iron scene?

Evan: I’m not going to stay to descriptive on the details, but Ugh… I was expecting an iron rod for some reason, and I have a college credit in Special Effects (SFX) make up; However Greg Nicotero and all the other artists are so incredibly talented, it was much, much, more than I could have expected! Being able to see the steps, and see the outcome, was incredible. To understand how amazing they did when Negan (Jeffery Dean Morgan) pulled the Iron from his face, all the skin really came with it, and after ‘CUT’ was called Jeffery Dean Morgan let out an awful sick sounding “Uhhggghh.. What the hell!” Haha

Mike: Did you get to work with Norman Reedus in that scene?

Evan: Yes, and really an extremely awesome actor to work with. I think I said before everyone on the crew, are just amazing people and talented as hell! And he wasn’t any different, but even though he was seemingly open and social, and I didn’t really yet get the total understanding of The Walking Dead, I can tell when an actor is in their zone, and he had it to a T. So I may have spoken when he was speaking to me, but I didn’t want to do anything to throw him off his groove. I was actually standing a few rows back, but directly behind him.

Mike: Give the readers a story from the set of The Walking Dead?

Evan: Eh, I don’t talk much on what happens on set for obvious reasons, so how about a pre-set of The Walking Dead story. Haha. I told you earlier that I didn’t know much at all about the show, and that being said I didn’t know shit about the show, or the people involved lol. So at the time, I was oblivious to whom he was, but during our auditions Greg Nicotero was actually there, and I still didn’t catch on. He was filling us in on the differences in iconic Zombies and TWD Walkers. He said who thinks they got it, I’ll have to see it to believe it. And I’m not really ‘cocky’, but I am definitely confident. Haha, So I stand up and start to shuffle around, and when I got lined up to him, I turned and was dead face to face as I started sniffing the air. He acknowledged the effort, but that’s when I looked him dead in the eye, and screeched, and yes, I actually tried to bite Greg Nicotero. Haha, It freaked him out, and it also freaked the stunt coordinator out, and after at least 5 minutes of him steady pushing my head away, and me steady only inches away from teeth to flesh contact I started laughing. Then he did, and everyone else. After that he looks at me and says, “Well. That was the best _______ zombie I’ve ever seen.” And that moment itself, was enough for me to die for.

Mike: Will we get to see anymore of you in the next part of the season?

Evan: Eh, that’s another one of those on the line questions. I’m not sure how much I can say so how about this… If you follow me, on my social media accounts, and keep up with me (still kinda new to them all, however I do have them all and love to interact with fans.) I will guarantee that when the next part of the season comes back on, you will not be let down. Probably more excited you were on my friends list beforehand actually… ; ]

Mike: What else do you have going on?

Evan: You do like asking the risky ones, eh Mike? Hahaha.. It’s ok though, Keeps a man on his toes I guess! Lol. I just quit my job as a Chef (I’ve been a chef for over 6 yrs.) to pursue acting full time. Being my dream to become an actor, I don’t want to be on my deathbed knowing that there was even 1 little thing I could have done that I didn’t do to be a fulltime professional actor. So since I’ve quit, I just wrapped up a few commercials, some that will be aired nationwide and some that are just in this region of NC. And awaiting the call back dates for some major feature films. I stay pretty busy since I quit. I also have a few student films I promised to be a part of, which I treat just like any other big production because honestly Art, is Art, and I am an artist. Money isn’t a big factor when doing something that you absolutely love. Always remember that if you work doing something you love, you’ll never work a day in your life. But, it still don’t mean you shouldn’t work so hard you don’t sweat or feel like you’ve done your all.

Mike: How can fans reachout to you?

Evan: I love to talk to fans, and I love doing anything I can for them, and also have them promote me and the projects I’m working on! So I was hoping you would ask something like this! Guys I’m really down to Earth, I like sharing and discussing different beliefs and ideas, (Just as long as we can all stay open-minded and not demanding or offensive.) and I even write a lot and might ask my followers what the next verse, or chapter should be about, because sometimes, I like to include my fans in a lot of my work. So, using the name TheEvanLopez or @TheEvanLopez you can find me on IMDB, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat, and Gmail, (Yea they are all under TheEvanLopez ) or email me at TheEvanLopez@gmail.com and I’ll be there, and don’t be shy or afraid to send a message, or Tweet me a Twit.. (Is that politically correct?)

Mike: What would you like to say in closing?

Evan: I thank you, Mike, and the kickass readers here at Blastzone Online for your interest in me, and The Walking Dead, I hope you guys had a laugh, or at least a good read, and entertaining interview (that way Boss Man wants to have me back once I am on bigger screens or at least more well known.) Also I forgot to mention this is actually the first online interview for a great mass of readers, so thank you, and I mean all of you. And I’m glad you could all share in the taking of my interview virginity. Haha. Is that a good outro? Idk, Don’t forget to follow, (TheEvanLopez) and thanks guys.

Leave a Reply

