(Christmas Throwback) Interview With Darla Fay Who Plays Hildred In Christmas Story 2 – From 11-29-12

Posted: 12/25/2016 in Actress, Christmas, Movies

Interview Done By Mike Wilkerson

MW: Please introduce yourself.

DF: I am Darla Fay.

MW: How did you get cast to play Hildred in The Christmas Story 2?

DF: I originally auditioned for the role of “Mother” in Christmas Story 2. Then my agent called and said the director, Brian Levant wanted to see me for the role of Hildred.  This role was so much fun. She’s a little kooky and a bit of drinker so needless to say not much of a character stretch for me.

MW: What did you think of the original classic Christmas Story movie?

DF: The original Christmas Story has been a must see in my home for years. It’s part of the Christmas line-up of classics… Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer, Frosty the Snowman, Home Alone, How the Grinch Stole Christmas and now Christmas Story 2!!!!!

MW: Do you feel they did the original justice with the sequel?

DF: I feel that sequels have a tough job topping originals but I must say Christmas Story 2 certainly did not disappointment me. The story line, characters, set decorations and wardrobe was true to the original.

MW: Who was the coolest to work with on the set of Christmas Story 2?

DF: I think the coolest to work with was Braeden Lemasters (Ralphie), David W. Thompson (Flick), and David Buehrie (Schwartz). These boys are so talented and their physical comedy is a joy to watch

MW: Give me a story from the set of Christmas Story 2?

DF: The director, Brian Levant has the energy of twenty people with ADHD. In the scene where I’m teaching the three boys how to wrap gifts, the tape they gave me to use was actually tape from that era. It was extremely narrow, very sticky, and would wrap around my fingers and I couldn’t get it off to wrap the present. I could tell Brian was getting all “rushy” and I was getting flustered so I put it into my character. Which could explain Hildred sneaking a swig from her flask.

MW: What do you think of Christmas yourself?

DF: I love Christmas! Although I’m not a religious person I believe in what the holiday represents for family and friends. It provides the opportunity for families and friends to come together that may not see each other often. It’s not so much about gifts but about laughter, food and story- telling. I know it sounds corny but it is what is!

MW: What other movies have you been in?

DF: I have been in the Oscar winning movie “Juno”. I played Michael Cera’s Mom, Mrs.Bleeker.. “Love Happens” with Jennifer Anniston and Aaron Eckhart, “Why Did I get Married?” with Robin Williams, “50/50” with Seth Rogen and Joseph Gordon-Levitt. I was in the pilot of “Once Upon a Time”, “The Haunting Hour”, and MOWs “Trading Christmas”, “ Goodnight For Justice” and “One Angry Juror”.

MW: What do you have going on in the future?

DF: An episode of “Psych” will be airing in the New Year. I plan on enjoying the holidays with my family and in the January I’ll be heading down to L.A. for a couple of months.
MW: What would you like to say in closing?

DF: In closing I would like to say never think it’s too late to follow your dream or passion. I was 36 years old when I started my journey. I’m not a “leading lady”, I have a husband, two children and a house in the suburbs of Vancouver, Canada. These could have been the reasons why I could not have my dream but I think of them as experiences, my gifts I bring to the role. Plus I’m really stubborn!

Leave a Reply

