Interview With Travis Young – Ray Richards On Resurrection & Greg On The Walking Dead Season 5

Posted: 05/12/2015 in Television, The Walking Dead, TV

 

281859_366875550150199_3163299665675555174_n

Interview Done By Mike Wilkerson

MW: Please introduce yourself to the Blastzone Online readers.
TY: hey guys my name is Travis Young and I am an actor/Uber driver extraordinaire, cat lover, and cigar aficionado.

MW: Tell me about your first acting job?
TY: my first paid acting gig was a play by Agatha Christie called, “Go Back For Murder” in 2000. It wasn’t very good, but I got 100 bucks and that meant the world at the time. I was officially a professional.

MW: Tell me about being Ray Richards on Resurrection?
TY: Ray’s affects are simply very peculiar, but he is chronically miss understood by the audience as a man with some particular debilitating mental handicap; most likely on the autism spectrum. But, honestly, it is truly ambiguous and open to interpretation. Most commonly, he’s thought to have Aspurgers syndrome. As an actor, I like to l leave it up to the audience, especially in this case. That is what is great about having a role like this, it gives the actor a huge playground. And Ray likes playgrounds.
10406011_10152446072798970_411800452_n
MW: Give me a story from the Resurrection set?
TY: I got to meet Kurtwood Smith. He was the bad guy in my all-time favorite science-fiction movie, Robocop. He came to folks house for dinner one night, sat by the fire and told us all Robocop stories. My life was then made complete. That’s not exactly from the set, but it’s a story I have to tell.

MW: How did you get cast as Greg on The Walking Dead season 5?
TY: my agent sent me a notification and some sides (piece of the script) and I put it on tape that same day.
Within a couple days, I got the gig. Incidentally I got cast in TWD the same day that resurrection was renewed for a second season. Talk about a great day! Before then, I’d auditioned for TWD at least five times. Also, they are super secretive about any information leaking on the show. I didn’t even audition with the real script and I still had to sign a nondisclosure agreement.

10172809_364046810433073_4237958274330832904_n
MW: Had you watched The Walking Dead or read the comic books before getting cast?
TY: I’m a huge horror fan. Mainly eighties slasher. I love the zombie genre as well, but had not followed TWD until I got cast. Soon as I did, I crammed all first four seasons in a week. Literally that next Monday I was filming. I took a week to watch the story and the next day I was literally in the story. Who can say that?

MW: Would you say being a cannibal was a interesting story for The Walking Dead?
TY: what’s not interesting about cannibalism? It’s tasty goodness. Makes me want to pick my teeth just thinking about it. Yum.

MW: Tell the readers how the scene went down with Bob (Lawrence Gillard Jr.) and the rest of the Termites?
TY: we shot at an old abandoned high school in Covington Georgia. It was about 2 o’clock in the morning and we were made to eat salt pork, as human flesh, all night long. I think I threw up eventually, but I didn’t care. Everybody was super cool, and the actress who played Theresa, April Billingsley, is also on Resurrection as Barbara. So, that was extra cool! Plus, she’s hot! Even when she’s dressed like a bag lady.

MW: How was it working with The Walking Dead cast?
TY: like I said, it was a literally surreal to have the whole story so fresh in your mind. and the day after you finish the fourth season, you’re IN the top of the fifth, sitting under a canopy cracking jokes with Rick and the crew.

MW: Do you have very many Walking Dead fans reach out to you?
TY: i’ve had a few, and they’re all really nice. Thank you for getting in touch with me.

MW: Are you doing any appearances at conventions the rest of 2015?
TY: i’m not sure. A lot of the bigger cast members have been showing up to these conventions now, so I guess us smalltime ones got to get pushed to the wayside, but we’ll see. Maybe I can just sneak a table in the back door, and nobody will say anything.

MW: How can Walking Dead fans contact you for a autograph or to just say hi?
TY: they can reach me on Twitter @actortyoung or my Facebook fan page!

MW: What other projects do you have for the rest of 2015?
TY: I’m always involved in theater, which is my first love. And I got a couple feature films under production. I’ll let everybody know about that as it unfolds. Some good stuff definitely. One film called, “Untapped ” about dancing. It’s mix between the movie “Flashdance” from the 80’s and “Step it up”- no I’m not dancing in it. You wouldn’t want to see that! Unless it’s moshing. Then, I can really crush some skulls.

MW: What would you like to say in closing?
TY: thank you for your kindness and interest in my career, it means the world. Look for me on your TV again very soon! I sure as hell ain’t going anywhere!

Leave a Reply

