Interview With Teri Wyble (Officer Shepard) On The Walking Dead Season 5

Posted: 05/11/2015 in Television, The Walking Dead, TV

 

Season_five_officer_shepherd

Interview Done By Mike Wilkerson

MW: Please introduce yourself to the Blastzone Online readers.
TW: Hey you beautiful people! I’m Teri Wyble, an artist of sorts, but most of you may know me as an actress and model, primarily from The Walking Dead. So happy to chat with you!

MW: Tell me about your first acting job?
TW: My first acting job was a short film called On My Mind, in 2008, right after graduating college. Some friends of mine asked me to audition, and I booked the lead. Pretty sweet luck, considering my only experience had been one theater class. That’s also where I ended up meeting my current boyfriend, Hunter Burke, who played my love interest. I always say how fun it is to watch it back and be able to see two people falling in love- both our characters, and in real life. It was a special time.

MW: How did you get cast as Officer Sheppard on The Walking Dead season 5?
TW: I got the audition from my agent for the role, which was a fake character. A pretty sweet character, though! A professional safe-cracker who’s asked to help on a heist, and is nervous about getting caught. I sent 2 takes of my video audition, and was cast a few weeks later as Officer Shepherd. I had auditioned previously for TWD about 4 times for different characters. When I learned I’d have to be a cop, I thought, “WHAT?!” I immediately went do some research and gun training.

MW: Had you watched The Walking Dead or read the comic books before getting cast?
TW: I was a fan of the show, yes! I love the apocalyptic survival story line. There’s always an impending danger underneath it all, which makes for great television and kept me wanting more. Plus, Andrew Lincoln is pretty easy on the eyes, am I right?

MV5BMjIzODMxMDMzOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzIwNjQzNTE@._V1_SY720_CR325,0,630,720_AL_

MW: Would you say Grady Memorial Hospital was an interesting story for The Walking Dead?
TW: Absolutely. Although I may be a bit biased! As a viewer, it was interesting to see Rick’s group land amongst these people that were still slightly living life as normal inside their walls, compared to so many of the other groups they came across. One example is the fact that my character wore makeup. That simple detail said so much about what life might have been like for the cops in Grady. Another reason why I’m so excited for the new spin-off TWD show, which follows different people in another area of the US.

MW: Tell the readers how the scene went down with Beth (Emily Kinney) and the rest of The Walking Dead cast? TW: We filmed that hallway scene for a whole day, or more. Getting it just right was crucial, and every detail was thought out and executed with what seemed like complete ease from the cast and crew. The adrenaline of everyone during this fragile and important scene made that space.. just.. electric. Emily’s character is well loved. We all wanted to do her justice.

Sonequa Martin-Green as Sasha, Tyler James Williams as Noah, Chad Coleman as Tyreese, Christopher Matthew Cook as Officer Licari and Teri Wyble as Officer Shepherd - The Walking Dead _ Season 5, Episode 8 - Photo Credit: Gene Page/AMC

Sonequa Martin-Green as Sasha, Tyler James Williams as Noah, Chad Coleman as Tyreese, Christopher Matthew Cook as Officer Licari and Teri Wyble as Officer Shepherd – The Walking Dead _ Season 5, Episode 8 – Photo Credit: Gene Page/AMC

MW: How was it working with The Walking Dead cast?
TW: I know it’s been said before, and I’ll have to reiterate it because it’s the truth. It’s truly the amazing family that you’ve always wanted. Andrew Lincoln is the glue that holds it all together. The man is both extremely professional and outstandingly charming, and his demeanor and positivity is contagious. The show wouldn’t be the same without him. I also gravitated toward Sonequa Martin-Green (Sasha) probably because we’re both from the south and we had so much in common. Being around her on set made me feel at home.

MW: Do you have very many Walking Dead fans reach out to you?
TW: Let’s just say that social media for me will never be the same! TWD fans are obviously the best out there. My name and face is by no means huge yet, but the jump in attention from the show was surprising and exciting! I love hearing from the fans. When I’m having a bad day, they’re the ones that always pull through and make me smile.

MW: Are you doing any appearances at conventions the rest of 2015?
TW: I have not thought about doing conventions, but it’s something to consider! If enough fans are interested in having me at a certain one- Let me know! Make it known, and I’ll try to make it happen!

MW: How can Walking Dead fans contact you for an autograph or to just say hi?
TW: Come say hi anytime!
Twitter and Instagram: @TeriWyble Email: Info@AlexanderWhiteAgency.com

MW: What other projects do you have for the rest of 2015?
TW: Coming up.. I have a role in the new blockbuster film, Terminator: Genisys, coming out July 1st. I’m stoked! This role was shot before I filmed TWD, so it’s definitely safe to say that it helped me prepare for what was to come for Officer Shepherd!

MW: What would you like to say in closing?
TW: Keep the support and positivity alive, y’all. #love

Leave a Reply

