Interview With Ryan Kate From MasterChef Junior Season 3

Posted: 05/11/2015 in Food, MasterChef Junior, Reality TV, Television, TV

MASTERCHEF: JUNIOR EDITION: Contestant Ryan Kate, 11, from Coppell, TX. CR. Greg Gayne / FOX. © FOX Broadcasting Co.

Interview Done By Mike Wilkerson

MW: Please introduce yourself?
RK: Hi I’m Ryan Kate from MasterChef Junior Season 3

MW: How did you get cast to be on MasterChef Junior?
RK: There was an open casting call audition in Dallas. So many friends encouraged me to go since they know my passion for cooking and have tasted my food. Right after my audition, I received my callback and had to prepare a dish on camera in a working kitchen. Then after mounds of paperwork and submitting a video of my home and family, I got the call that I had been cast for Season 3. The next week I was off to Hollywood!

How is it working with?
RK: Chef Ramsay-I couldn’t wait to work with Gordon, because he is after all, Gordon Ramsay! He was less intimidating than I thought, but still very intense!

Chef Elliot -Graham was always very cheerful which I liked. He always had very specific details when he critiqued my food. I liked that he noticed details that the other judges didn’t notice. I really like to pay attention to details, especially with my plating.

Chef Bastianich – Joe (he isn’t actually a chef, but a restaurateur) was really the funny one of the group. He always had something to say or do that made us laugh. This seems hard to believe since he is famous for his “death stare,” but he always put a smile on our faces.

MW: What was your favorite dish to make on the show?
RK: My favorite dish that I made on the show, believe it or not, was the dish that got me eliminated, salmon en croute. I liked that dish because it challenged me and taught me something new since I had never made it before. Once I returned home, I perfected that dish and now it is a family favorite at our house.

MW: What was your favorite Mystery Box to do?
RK: Probably the aged ingredient challenge. I loved the way the judges dressed up as old men and also, I was working with lots of foods that I never get to work with and as I said before, I love a good challenge.

MW: What was your favorite individual challenge to do?
RK: Salmon en croute, definitely.

MW: What was your favorite team challenge?
RK: On the team challenge, I think it’s a tie for the sausage challenge and the sushi challenge, because I got paired with great teammates on both of those challenges! Kayla and Nathan are both amazing chefs and were great partners.

MW: What were your thoughts when you were sent home?
RK: I was disappointed because I made such great friends, but they live all over the country and I knew I would not get to see them again soon, if ever. But I was also happy to have made it so far. It was such an accomplishment for me and I was proud of myself and thankful for the experience.

MW: What did you think of the Nathan Odom winning?
RK: I was really happy for him because he was one of my friends and I think he totally deserves it. He is an amazing chef and an amazing friend.

MW: What are your plans for the future?
RK: Because of the show, I have lots of opportunities that are right around the corner. But long term, I would like to go to the Culinary Institute of America in New York. I’m still deciding between becoming a Chef, Restauranteur, or food critic because I also love to write and what’s better than getting paid to eat food?!

MW: What would you like to say in closing?
RK: I would like to thank Fox for giving me the opportunity. But more importantly, I would like to thank God for blessing me with this unique talent and my family and friends for supporting and encouraging me. And for all of you who love to cook, keep practicing because practice makes perfect!

zap-masterchef-junior-season-3-contestants-201-021

Leave a Reply

