Interview with Kylie Szymanski (Penny Blake – The Governor’s Daughter) From The Walking Dead TV Series On AMC

Posted: 02/09/2014 in Television, The Walking Dead

the-walking-dead-season-3-1

Pretty Penny

Interview Done By Michael Wilkerson

MW: Please introduce yourself?
KS: Hi my name is Kylie Szymanski and I played Penny on AMC’s The Walking Dead.

MW: How would fans of The Walking Dead TV show on AMC know you?
KS: Many fans recognize me as The Governor’s zombified daughter, Penny. I meet many of them at conventions.

MW: How did you get cast as Penny Blake on The Walking Dead?
KS: On a website they posted what they were looking for in their actor (hair color, eye color, height, ect.) but they did not say what it was for and after we sent in my head shots and they chose the few young women they wanted and told us it was for The Walking Dead. When it came time for the audition it was with Greg Nicotero and we just practiced the hair falling out scene. They said that if we got it they would contact us soon. As we were coming home we got a phone call… I got the part! It was only 35 minutes from the audition!

MW: Tell me about your days on the set?
KS: On the set it was only five days of preparing and filming, but it was the most fun time of my life. I put on zombie make up which took about an hour and forty-five minutes. After that was over with I filmed with AMAZING and wonderful actors. After that was done I got my make-up removed at what is called THE ZOMBIE SPA. It was a very relaxing process including warm towels.

MW: So you are Penny for all scenes except what ones?
KS: I was Penny for all of the parts except when Penny ran out of the cage at the governor. That part was played by stunt double Savana Jade Wehunt. She was an amazing stunt double and a nice person.

MW: So how fun was it to work with David Morrissey?
KS: David Morrissey was an extremely nice guy, really the exact opposite of his character. Every time he would put the bag over my head he would always make sure I was okay.

MW: How fun was it work with Danai Gurira?
KS: Danai was such a pleasure to work with. She was a very nice woman, she even apologized for killing me.

MW: What did you think of The Governor’s supposed death?
KS: I think it real serious. There is no more drama for rest of season.

MW: Do you think he is really dead?
KS: I don’t think he is unless they can introducing new character?

MW: What did you think when he killed Herschel?
KS: I was crushed. I was in tears. He was the nicest guy.

MW: What has been your favorite convention to do and why?
KS: My favorite convention has definitely been Monster Mania 2013 in Cherry Hill, NJ. It was just so huge and it had so many things to see and so many people to meet! It was a blast!

MW: What new conventions will you be at in 2014?
KS: Look at my Facebook and Twitter for updates.

MW: Do you think they should tell the back story of the Blake family?
KS: I think that would be amazing because it would really make people have some sympathy for The Governor and how he lost his wife and his only daughter.

MW: Do you think they will put out a Penny Blake action figure?
KS: I don’t know if they will make a Penny Blake action figure.

MW: What else are you doing other then The Walking Dead?
KS: We are doing some acting classes and a few auditions here and there but nothing big yet. I am looking forward to doing more acting. I love it!

MW: How can fans reach out to you?
KS: I have a Twitter and a Facebook fan page that fans can send me messages and ask me questions that I answer.

https://www.facebook.com/kylieszymanski.fanpage

https://twitter.com/KylieSzymanski

MW: What would you like to say in closing?
KS: The Walking Dead is such an amazing show and I hope that everybody continues to watch it. I’m very thankful to have been able to be a part of it.

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway here for a personalized autographed photo of Kylie:

https://blastzoneonline.wordpress.com/2014/02/09/walking-dead-giveaway-for-2-9-14-2-16-14

Leave a Reply

