Interview With Raresh DiMofte Of The Hit FOX TV Show Almost Human

Posted: 01/02/2014 in Almost Human, Television

Interview Done By Mike Wilkerson

MW: Please introduce yourself?
RD: Hello, hello! I am Raresh DiMofte, a professional actor based in Vancouver, born in Romania.

MW: How did you get cast to be the Masked Man on the new hit FOX series Almost Human?
RD: First off all I got myself a brand new amazing agent – Rob Lycar of Moving Pictures Talent who signed me on August 1st, this year. After booking a commercial mid-august, Rob got me an audition with Corinne Clark for Almost Human on Aug 30th. By the end of the day they told us I was first choice and 6 days later I was on set, shooting.

MW: How was it working on Almost Human?
RD: For me being the Masked Man on Almost Human is the very first job I got in a TV series in North America. So you could imagine the awe I was in when I got on set. My first impression was that of the professionalism of all the people working on that set. It kept reminding me of a Swiss watch – a perfect mechanism. I was so happy and proud to be a small gear in that mechanism and to contribute to its proper functioning. Tic-tac, tic-tac. That was the sound I could hear throughout that day in my ears. Tic-tac, tic-tac. And everyone on the set moving to that rhythm.

Michael Offer, the Director of that episode, is an awesome guy. He is so open and easy to work with, he made everything seem fun and easy even thought the work environment was fast paced and highly professional. And the Skin room was breath taking. All the gadgets, computers, wires etc. it looked out of this world. The whole crew did an amazing job and worked as a strong team, and I know this is pretty normal for people with lots of experience on big sets, but for me, as a newbie, was very impressive.

MW: Tell me a story from the set of Almost Human?
RD: Just between you and me, this being my first big production gig, when I got on the set the Assistant that welcomed me took me to a trailer that had a piece of paper on the door that wrote Masked Man. I had a trailer. I had a trailer?! Yes, i had a trailer. That took a while to sink in. It was shared, but still. This is when I remembered my professors Diana Cozma and Radu Teampãu and all those 16 hours day during all 4 years in University rehearsing with my colleagues in a dark cold dusty room. They payed off and I hope I make them all proud.

MW: Did you think Almost Human will be popular?
RD: I think it is popular already. Seriously, it is a series about cops, both human (some of which are beautiful smart women) and androids, fighting bad guys who deal in sex-bots with human DNA taking place in the future and using all these uber-gadgets. How cool is that? And that’s only for starters. I’m not good with numbers but this could be watched by half the globe’s population.🙂

MW: I think someone should do a Sex Bot action figure. What do you think?
RD: Man, I have been on set for close to 10 hours with some of those Sex Bots. Let me tell you, those ladies should each get an action figure as they were all top models. They should make an army of Sex Bots. (surely not to be sold @ Toys “R” Us). I’ll bet they will be a huge success at any comic book store and Comic Con. Talk about next year’s Halloween costumes. 😉

MW: What else do you have going on in the future?
RD: Thanks to Almost Human I am now in the Union UBCP/ACTRA, so Rob, my agent, is now submitting me to major projects shooting in Vancouver and we’re looking for projects in Toronto too. I am also represented in US by Global One (LA and Seattle). And a fare chunk of my time goes into our own indie projects. My wife, Nadia DiMofte, and I are producing our own short films that we write together; Nadia is also directing and I am obviously acting in them🙂.

One project we just finished shooting is Frailness and we are fundraising for our next one “SE si SE” which deals with the Human Trafficking issue. In the mean time we are preparing for our first feature. We have lots of projects lining up and not only film, but theatre as well, which is my first love.

MW: Will you be making appearances?
RD: Will I? I don’t know. The Masked Man is a tiny part in the series so far. Not to me though. I have build this character as usual, researching it and creating his history. During research I found out that there is a group of  engineers at the University of Tokyo who studied and tried to produce e-skin/bionic skin for the past 10 years and they have remarkable results. I have read about their challenges in using today’s rigid electronics in replicating the soft, flexible, sensitive and at a certain temperature human skin. So, extrapolating to 2048 it gave me the context of my character working with high-end state-of-the-art technology to reproduce human skin for robots. He thinks himself an artist that loves his work. Except the system doesn’t allow the use of human DNA on robots so he crossed to the dark side to be able to create what he loves and is good at – human DNA incorporating skin for robots. He is a geek gone bad.

The word on the street is, if you’re not killed, there’s hope.🙂

MW: What would you like to say in closing?
RD: First of all thank you for this interview. It is my first in North America – lots of firsts going around thanks to Almost Human.😉 Second, great job with your blog. Keep’em coming. Third, to all your fans out there: watch Almost Human, it is a great show and I’m sure it will only get better. And if you would like to stay in touch with me I am present in social media, so you are all welcome to like, follow, pin, tag and/or subscribe depending on your preference.🙂

Leave a Reply

