Interview With Rozalyn Mattocks – A Member Of The Governor’s Militia – The Walking Dead TV Series On AMC

Posted: 12/18/2013 in Television, The Walking Dead

The-Walking-Dead-Season-4-Begins-on-AMC-610x400

File:Extra1 (Dead Weight).png

Interview Done By Mike Wilkerson

MW: Please introduce yourself?
RM: Hello I am Rozalyn Mattocks.

MW: How would fans of The Walking Dead TV show on AMC know you?
RM: A member of The Governor’s Army in season four episode 7 and 8.

MW: How did you get cast as a Soldier In The Governors Militia on The Walking Dead?
RM: I kept an eye on the casting site and applied for anything that might be TWD. They called for outdoorsy types. I sent in a picture of me and my machete in the woods, taken from a short I had written about the apocalypse.

MW: What did you think when you got cast to be on the Walking Dead?
RM: I didn’t sleep or eat, I didn’t want to jinx myself.

MW: Tell me about life on the set? It’s exciting.
RM: The actors are out there sweating in the 98 degree heat with you. Guns are going off. The bugs are thick and so are the snakes. Zombies play Frisbee between takes. The special effects geniuses walk by with dead bodies. It’s like Disney for adults.

MW: Did you know what you were getting yourself into?
RM: I’m a huge fan of the show so yes and no. I didn’t know much about guns so I started going to the gun range, and did every day task while having one holstered.

MW: Tell me about working with David?
RM: He’s convincing and charming. You want to believe him, he makes it easy.

MW: Was it ever determined if you live or die?
RM: My death was not shown.

MW: How was that day of shooting when The Governor rallies everyone?
RM: My heart was racing. I was ready, we had a tank. I wanted a good night’s sleep in that prison. He did say they were all prisoners and didn’t deserve that protection.

MW: Where you in the Hershel death scene?
RM: Yes I was. My truck was on his side I had a front row seat. As the episode shows most of us didn’t know the Governor had taken hostages. It was shocking.

MW: If you were how was it to work with David, Scott, and Danai?
RM: Like I said David is charming, and he sings between takes. To see Danai in action was amazing, she is so physical. She really goes for it. They all do. Scott was heartbreaking, I love his character. I have such tremendous respect for him, it was such an honor to hear his speech both before and after the scene. I shed many tears.

MW: Do you wish you had gotten more screen time?
RM: Of course, don’t we all want to be bad @##? I had a hard time spotting us behind the tank firing on the prison. My father built tanks, I have been around them my whole life. So I would have loved to see a bit more of that fight. But man what fight it was, so I can’t complain!

MW: Would you come back in season 5 as another character or another walker if asked?
RM: I would mow grass if they asked! I love action, to write it, act in it, read and watch it, so to be a part of one of the greatest action shows out there is amazing.

MW: Who is your favorite character?
RM: Rick Grimes, he is a good man despite it all. Those kind of men are rare gems.

MW: Do many fans try to reach out to you?
RM: Several have, it’s why I created a new page separate from my family page so I could talk to them.

MW: Have you done any conventions as a guest yet?
RM: No

MW: What new conventions in 2014 will you be at?
RM: Dragon Con

MW: Who is the coolest actor on The Walking Dead to work with?
RM: By far the coolest was Andrew Lincoln, he was out on set hours before everyone else getting ready for each scene. He was so respectful and grateful to everyone working. What a talented actor.

MW: What else are you doing other then The Walking Dead?
RM: I am a screenwriter with one feature length script currently in competition, and two shorts in pre-production that I will also be acting in. I also have a few movies that I have small non speaking roles coming out in 2014.

MW: What would you like to say in closing?
RM: I would just like to say how grateful I am to have had the opportunity and experience, nothing can compare to my summer on The Walking Dead.

Adventures in TWD

Leave a Reply

