Interview With E. Roger Mitchell (Paul Member Of Woodbury) From The Walking Dead TV Series On AMC

Posted: 10/15/2013 in Television, The Walking Dead

the-walking-dead-season-3-1

photo(2)

Interview Done By Mike Wilkerson

MW: Please introduce yourself?
ERM:  Hi, my name is E. Roger Mitchell.

MW: How would fans of The Walking Dead TV show on AMC know you?
ERM: I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to play the role of “Paul” on AMC’s The Walking Dead.  Paul was a citizen of Woodbury.

MW: How did you get cast as a Paul (member of Woodbury) on The Walking Dead?
ERM: I auditioned for another character originally, there was NOT a name given.  In fact the name was “Citizen”.  I did not get that role…but subsequently I made an impression on the producers and they offered me the role of “Paul” 2 episodes later.

MW: What did you think when you read the script?
ERM: When I read the script, I was elated.  I am a huge fan of the show…so the script included ME.  That was satisfaction enough!

MW: What was it like to do your first scenes?
ERM: My first scenes?  It was freaking HOT that day!  It was an uprising…the citizens were preparing to leave Woodbury.  “We will take our chances”.  It was a lot of fun.  This was the beginning of the Chaos in Woodbury.
photo(1)
MW: Did you hope if you die you will get to be a walker?
ERM: Unfortunately, my character was an outspoken kind of guy…that garnered me a bullet in the back from the Governor after our attack on the prison went south’.  Honestly…who turns their back on the Governor?  I would not have, but…I had to take the direction. 🙂

MW: Did you know what you were getting yourself into?
ERM:

MW: Will we get to see you more in more episodes of The Walking Dead?
ERM: This all went down in the season 3 finale.  So all in all I worked on 2 episodes total. (In my mind though…Paul is not dead…he is alive. And he had to flee after the massacre…he was hurt really bad, but he is out there somewhere surviving like many have had to do…he is gonna make it.). 🙂

MW: Do you watch the show?
ERM:  I watch the show religiously.  Always LOVED the show!

MW: Did you like The Walking Dead before you were cast?
ERM: I knew what I was getting myself into because I am the BIGGEST Walking Dead fan EVER…since day one!  So I was very aware of what I was getting into.  And truly Blessed to be there.

MW: Who is your favorite character?
ERM: My favorite character is ” Paul”!  Ha!  But I am fond of All the characters in some way.

MW: Do many fans try to reach out to you?
ERM: I have had some fans show me love and have made me feel apart of the family…would be ecstatic to hear from more however.  Lots more.:-).

MW: Have you done any conventions as a guest yet?
ERM: I have been invited to do the WalkerStalker convention which is coming up next month.  No ComicCons though.

MW: Who is the coolest actor on The Walking Dead to work with?
ERM: The coolest actor is Scott Wilson.  He’s the man!  BUT he is in Great company.  A lotta’ coolness’ on the show!

MW: What else are you doing other then The Walking Dead?
ERM: Other than that…I am awaiting the premier of Hunger Games: Catching Fire.  I play the role of Chaff’/District 11 tribute, also Anchorman 2, Crazy Sexy Cool:  TLC Biopic, Line of Sight, Drop Dead Diva, Kill the Messenger, and Need For Speed.

MW: What would you like to say in closing?
ERM: Thanks for asking Mike.  Sorry so late, but I appreciate it sir.  Be well.
photo
Twitter:  @Erajj/ERoger4real
imdb.com:  E. Roger Mitchell
Facebook:  E. Roger Mitchell
photo

Leave a Reply

