Interview With Rock Legend Ted Nugent

Posted: 06/05/2013 in Music

Interview Done By Mike Wilkerson

MW: Please tell me about the first time you played in a rock band?
TN: I performed at the Detroit MI State Fairgrounds around 1958 or 1959 with my guitar teacher Joe Podorsek and our Capitol School of music quartet playing Honky Tonk and Boogie Woogie. I then had a combo in our neighborhood in Detroit, me and a drummer @ 1960 jamming on Chuck Berry, Bo Diddly, Ventures, and creating our own music. I was going on 12 at that time. Very inspiring times.

MW: What Ted Nugent band over the years has been your favorite to record with and play live?
TN: My musical adrenalin is always adventurously intensifying to this very day. I would have to say that my band for the last many years is the tightest, most dynamic and intense ever. Mick Brown on drums, Greg Smith on bass and Derek St. Holmes on guitar and vocal. Know that I have forever been surrounded with world class musicians so there has never been a dull moment. I am sure I am the luckiest guitar player ever.

MW: When will you get Fred Bear to be the National Anthem of Michigan? Also when do you plan to run for a political office, and which one would you run for?
TN: In the hearts and souls of ultimate music lovers and the Great Spirit of the Wild everywhere, FRED BEAR has indeed been the MI, WI & PA national anthem for more than 24 years. There simply is no other song like it. I currently hold and work tirelessly at the most important political office on earth. We the people of the USA. If the time comes where the push is overwhelming, I would be proud to bring the logic, truth, accountability and powerful productivity that provides the Nugent family and team the greatest quality of life in the world to politics. God knows America needs it desperately right now.

MW: How do you keep yourself looking so young and fit after so many years of Rockn’ so hard?
TN: Being clean and sober, plus lots of venison. Plus my incredible wife Shemane, the goddess of Zumba, puts me through some rigorous, shall we say, physical workouts on a daily basis.

MW: Do you ever plan to retire from making music and touring?
TN: I Can’t imagine. It’s simply too much fun and I have an indefatigable tsunami of killer music inside me.

MW: Where do you see America in the next 2 years? 5 years? 10 years?
TN: That all depends on whether more Americans wake up to the curse of self-inflicted dependency and reawaken their natural instinct to be independent and as quality productivity conscious as possible. If the Obama curse of bloodsucking continues, America will continue to spiral into spiritual suicide. If they wake up or move to France to get out of the way of caring, productive Americans, then she will shine on to unstoppable upgrade again. It’s that simple.

MW: What would you like to say in closing?
TN: Thank you America for providing me this gravity defying musical career and pushing me upward and onward forever. I am deeply humbled by the superior quality of humanity that stands with me and celebrates not only our musical dreams, but equally the powerful activism that is driving the America haters crazy. Godbless you all.

Leave a Reply

