Interview With Alan Flying Stormtrooper In Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back & Deck Officer In Star Wars: Return Of The Jedi

Posted: 05/11/2013 in Movies, Star Wars

Interview Done By Mike Wilkerson

MW: Please introduce yourself?
AF: My name is Alan Flyng and I am a singer/actor/costumier and designer.

MW: How would fans of the Star Wars universe know you?
AF: I am known for having been one of a select few to work as a Stormtrooper on the Carbon Chamber set of The Empire Strikes back and subsequently as the Deck Officer on the Executor during the Battle of Endor who tells Admiral Piett the bridge deflector shields are lost…

MW: How did you get the job to be Deck Officer in Star Wars:  Return of the Jedi & Stormtrooper in Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back?
AF: The Stormtrooper gig was a straightforward call from the agent to go and be fitted for ‘some’ work, which turned into 7 weeks, whereas the Imperial Officer was by chance. Another actor proved to be unable to do the part and I was passing at the right time and in the right place…

MW: What did you think when you got the job?
AF: The Stormtrooper work I thought would be a matter of a day or two and, as I was helmeted, I was happy to go along with it. As it drew on longer and longer, I came to dislike the armor intensely, as the set was a closed stage with real steam venting underfoot and the whole thing was lit with football-type arc lights. It was as near to hell in that costume as I ever came until I shot in the desert in Jordan outside Petra on another film, where Lawrence of Arabia had been shot.

MW: How was it working with so many people?
AF: I am pretty much a friendly sort and it was well organized, so it was no problem.

MW: How much did you get to work with George Lucas?
AF: I only worked with him when he was directing 2nd Unit action or stunt shots.

MW: How was he to work with?
AF: He was quiet – almost too shy – and let the 1st Assistant Director do most of the directing, not having a lot to say about anything.

MW: Have you collected any of the action figures made of you?
AF: All that I get I sign for fans or for charity.

MW: Were you able to keep anything from the set of Star Wars?
AF: No. Everything was watched over and signed in and out – even my page of the script containing my line!!!

MW: What do you think of Disney now owning the Star Wars franchise?
AF: It is a chance for the whole deal to become either ‘a new hope’ for the fans and future generations or it could fall flat. I don’t think that will happen, as the chosen director has already proven himself somewhat of a fanboy, which bodes well! Also, I think Disney, although they have been very controlling in the past, are not about to flush their investment capital down the pan!

MW: What conventions will you be at in the near future?
AF: This coming fortnight I will be in Canada attending LONDON ROGUES SCI-FI/FANTASY 7 (http://www.londonrogues.ca/) the 11th and 12th May, a store signing in Niagara at Pulp Comics on the 16th followed by another small con in Welland on the 18th. Otherwise, most listings can be checked out for me and other actors at http://starwarsactorappearances.blogspot.co.uk/

MW: How can fans reach you for autographs?
AF: Either through one or other of my websites (www.alanflyng.weebly.com or www.alanflyng.com or http://www.sci-ficonventionsigners.co.uk/. I welcome every opportunity to meet my fellow Star Wars fans either in person at conventions and signings, or on Facebook, where I am forever available! LOL.

MW: What would you like to say in closing?
AF: I am immensely grateful for all the kindness I encounter in my dealings with the world of fandom and look forward to more years of it as the franchise widens ever wider and more diversely.

Leave a Reply

