Interview With Stephen Costantino Gamorrean Guard In Star Wars: Return Of The Jedi

Posted: 04/26/2013 in Movies, Star Wars

Interview Done By Mike Wilkerson

MW: Please introduce yourself?
SC: Hi, I’m Stephen Costantino

MW: How & why did you get involved with the entertainment business?
SC: I’ve been playing guitar since I was 4 yrs old & writing songs since i was 8 yrs old. It was a natural calling for me.

MW: How did you get the gig to be the Gamorrean Guard?
SC: I was introduced to Corey Dee Williams through our martial arts teacher Hugh Van Putten & we immediately hit it off & started a band called Incognito & then Atmosphere. When Billy Dee Williams asked Corey to stand in for him in Yuma, Ariz. for ROTJ, Corey asked if I could go along to continue playing & writing music. About the 3rd day on the set I was hired to play the Gamorrean Guard.

MW: How was it working with Mark Hamill?
SC: Mark was great to work with, he had a great spirit & was very humble & made me feel very comfortable.

MW: Can you give me a story from your scenes with Mark Hamill?
SC: The scene was meticulously laid out & there was a lot going on around us at all times. I was told to step into the footsteps drawn out on the floor for the fight scene so everything would go smooth on camera & I wouldn’t miss my cues.

MW: What did you think when you saw a action figure of the Gamorrean Guard?
SC: I was very pleased & excited to say the least. I never thought I never thought my character would be this popular after all these years. I’ve become quite a collector myself.

MW: Give me a history of your musical career?
SC: After Corey & I went into different directions, I started a band called the Cronies with Billy Wirth from Lost Boys & we played shows & also wrote songs for movie sountracks. I also started to play guitar on sessions for Bret Mazur aka Epic at Scotty Brothers records for Bel Bev Devoe, New Edition, Black Eyed Peas & then Crazy Town which was a band that Bret started that had quite a successful run at the time.

MW: Have you ever released anything?
SC: All the projects I just mentioned have all been released.

MW: Tell me about your new release?
SC: I’m recording & mixing a cd spanning my career as a musician & songwriter that will be released soon.

MW: Do you ever tour?
SC: I’ve toured with the Cronies & plan to do shows when my cd is released. I also plan on doing shows at some of the conventions I do.

MW: What conventions will you be signing at this year?
SC: Go to coolwatersprods.com & click on appearances & all the upcoming conventions that I’m doing are listed for 2013.

MW: What would you like to say in closing?
SC: I feel very lucky & thankful to be part of such a huge franchise & can’t believe 30 yrs later I’m traveling & meeting fans all over the world & get to travel with Billy & Corey Dee Williams after all these years. I can’t thank Billy & Corey enough for such an opportunity, those guys are family to me. Corey & I have started playing & writing music together since our reunion. Thanks so much for the interview.

Leave a Reply

